Waste levy waiver and gate fee rebate for flood waste


The Victorian Government has announced that the waste levy will be waived and the landfill operator gate fees rebated for flood waste received from the following 46 flood affected local government areas (LGAs). The government has also announced that Emergency Recovery Victoria has engaged a contractor to prioritise the collection of flood affected waste from impacted areas.


The waste levy exemption and gate fee rebate applies to flood affected waste from the following municipalities:


  • Alpine Shire Council
  • Ararat Rural City Council
  • Banyule City Council
  • Benalla Rural City Council
  • Boroondara Council
  • Brimbank City Council
  • Buloke Shire Council
  • Campaspe Shire Council
  • Central Goldfields Shire Council
  • City of Ballarat
  • City of Greater Geelong
  • Colac Otway Shire Council
  • Corangamite Shire Council
  • Gannawarra Shire Council
  • Glenelg Shire
  • Golden Plains Shire Council
  • Greater Bendigo City Council
  • Greater Shepparton City Council
  • Hepburn Shire Council
  • Horsham Rural City Council
  • Hume City Council
  • Indigo Shire Council
  • Loddon Shire Council
  • Macedon Ranges Shire Council
  • Manningham City Council
  • Mansfield Shire Council
  • Maribyrnong City Council
  • Melbourne City Council
  • Mitchell Shire Council
  • Moira Shire Council
  • Moonee Valley City Council
  • Moorabool Shire Council
  • Mount Alexander Shire Council
  • Moyne Shire
  • Murrindindi Shire Council
  • Northern Grampians Shire Council
  • Pyrenees Shire Council
  • Strathbogie Shire Council
  • Swan Hill Rural City Council
  • Wangaratta Rural City Council
  • Warrnambool City Council
  • Whittlesea Council
  • Wodonga Council
  • Wyndham City Council
  • Yarra Ranges Council
  • Yarriambiack Shire Council


Application of the waste levy waiver


The waste levy waiver applies to any Victorian landfill that receives flood waste from the affected local government areas. The waiver applies until 31 December 2022.


In the context of the waiver, "flood waste" means any material deposited on a property by the floods or damaged by the floods, that requires disposal to landfill.


Landfills need to ensure that evidence is obtained to verify that the waste is flood waste from an affected LGA.


As a minimum, the following information is required to access the free service:


  • If the waste is received at the landfill from a resident (non-commercial transporter), evidence in the form of a driver’s licence showing an address in one of the LGAs or a recent rates notice should be provided.
  • If waste is received from a transfer station, landfills should ensure they are provided with evidence from the waste transporter and the transfer station.
    • This means a declaration provided by the transfer station operator that the waste is flood waste from one of the 46 LGAs.
    • From the transporter, landfills should ensure consignment details are provided that show the source of the waste as being from one of the LGAs.
  • If the producer of the waste is not a transfer station, landfills should request a declaration from the transporter that the waste is flood waste.
  • The declarations need to listed the vehicle registration number and dates that the vehicles will be transporting flood waste. The declarations need to clearly state that the waste is flood waste from an LGA in the approved list.